Oliver’s Interview of Sneaky

olivernewbook3Okay, Fur Friends and Humble Humans. You are in for a rare treat better than caviar or catnip. Today, my author Debbie’s cat, Oliver, is going to interview yours truly about our new book.

High Paws, Sneaky! It’s great to finally meet you in the virtual fur.

 What book(s) have you appeared in? Please list them and their genre.

stonesthrowamazon  between-a-rockhard-place-001

I was introduced in Debbie’s first Cobble Cove Mystery, A Stone’s Throw, that is a cozy mystery. I am also featured in the second book that was just released, Between a Rock and a Hard Place.

Are you in a series? If so, please give information about it.

I am the library cat in the Cobble Cove mystery series as I  already meowed. No offense, Ollie, but I think you need some practice with your interview techniques. 

Sorry, Sneaky. This is my first interview.

What do you like most about your human’s books?

I enjoy all the characters, both humans and animals. Fido, the golden retriever dog, is my pet co-star. For a dog, he is pretty pawsome. I also like the mysteries, although I find it very fur-strating when the humans can be so stupid that they don’t cat-ch all the clues.

What advice would you give other cat characters?

Watch your human as he or she writes and make sure they are giving you purr-fect lines and scenes. If not, you can improvise and make some changes to your script. For instance, Debbie had no idea that I would teach that old man, Mac, a lesson in A Stone’s Throw when she allowed Sheila, the Cobble Cove library director, to accept his excuse for not cleaning my litter box. Now all our readers will remember his smelly jacket.

stripeyatcomputerThat’s a bit drastic, Sneaky. I leave that sort’ve revenge to my step-brother cat, Stripey. He did a dirty deed to Debbie’s husband’s computer bag once when he wasn’t giving him attention.

Does your human have any new books coming out? Please give dates and details.

Between a Rock and a Hard Place (Cobble Cove Mystery #2) just came out on October 12. Even though the book can be read without reading the other, I highly recommend you start with the first mystery, A Stone’s Throw,  not only because my early scenes are paw-some but because you will want to get to know the main characters who continue in the following book along with new ones who are introduced. But, mostly, you should buy the first one (as well as the new one) so that Debbie can afford cat food and litter for her real life cats, Oliver and Stripey.

Awww, Sneaks. Thanks for the plug. I could just head bump you.

That’s not necessary, Oliver, but I appreciate the thought. 

Of claus. Can you share an excerpt from your latest book, Sneaky?

I thought you’d never ask. Actually, this is one that Debbie just read at her author talk at the North Bellmore Library about my storytime scene:

Laura opened the staff lounge, and Alicia followed her in flicking up the light switch next to the door. The room into which they walked was cozy with a few tables covered by red and green holiday tablecloths that Vera had recently purchased in town, and chairs similar to the one in Sheila’s office that she’d promised to replace soon with padded ones. There was a small refrigerator and a counter with coffee maker, mugs, and sweeteners.

Laura continued through the room to the back door framed by a cat flap. She put her finger to her lips.

“Shhh. He might be sleeping. That would be great. We can catch him unaware.”

She opened the door slowly and tiptoed through. Alicia followed on her toes, as well, the squeals from downstairs reaching a crescendo as the two women entered the storage/cat room. 

Sneaky was indeed sleeping, nestled into the cat bed they’d moved from under the local history collection downstairs; but, like most felines, he was alert to the slightest noise. As Laura and Alicia entered the room, one brown ear flap lifted and Sneaky’s left eye opened a slit.

“Uh, oh,” he’s heard us. Laura bent down and unlocked the cat carrier. Sneaky, hearing the familiar sound, jumped up from his bed.

“Oh, no, you don’t, Mr. Sneak,” Laura said. She signaled to Alicia to block the exit as she ran across the room and scooped up the cat in one fell swoop. Then, rushing back to the carrier, she pushed him in and secured all four hinges that closed the door.

“Amazing,” Alicia said. “You’re such an expert at catching cats. I had one before I married my first husband, and my mom and I always had such a difficult time getting him to the vet. We had to close all the rooms in our house, and he would still run under the couch.”

Laura laughed. “I’ve had lots of practice. I grew up in a house full of kitties, and I’ve also done animal rescue. Mr. Sneaks is no match for me.”

She picked up the case as Sneaky began to meow, his bellows mixing with the children’s wails from below. “Let’s get down there before some of these kids start throwing up from excitement.”

I loved the part where you lifted your ear flap and opened your eye slit. I’m sure it took a lot of self-control to pretend to let Laura cat-ch you.

I hate to beg for my food and, as you know, we Siamese cats can be quite vocal especially at five in the morning. Thank goodness Debbie is an early bird and writes at the crackle of dawn.

debbiephotoAre you and/or your human on social media? If so, please list your links. Although I’m privy to Debbie’s computer, I’ll let you post the info since this is your blog.

Of, Claus, Oliver.

I just started my own purr-sonal blog  that you are reading at https://sneakylibrarycat.wordpress.com

Debbie has her own blog on her website: https://debbiedelouise.com

She also has a FB author page: https://www.facebook.com/debbie.delouise.author

Her twitter account where she tweets like a birdy is https://twitter.com/Deblibrarian

Her Amazon page where you can purchase all her books is Author.to/DebbieDeLouise

What a paw-some interview, Sneaky. Do you think if I’m really nice, I’ll get a blog of my own one day?

I wouldn’t hold my purrs, Ollie. 

I won’t, but I will offer you and Debbie my best whiskers on your new book.

Thank you. I have already shared some plans with Debbie for a third Cobble Cove mystery that will take full advantage of my acting tail-ants. 

olivercatbedI can’t wait, Sneaky. Now, however, my comfy cat bed calls where I will curl up and take a nap while you and Debbie work hard on your upcoming books and you continue this paw-some blog featuring many more cool cat characters and their authors..

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

