Sneaky Interviews Kimba, Star of the “Cats in the Mirror” Children’s SF Books by Meg Welch Dendler

kimba-cover-kdp-version-3Okay, Kitties and Kiddies, today I have a children’s book cat character, Kimba, here to talk about her Cats in the Mirror Sci Fi/Fantasy books for young humans.Welcome Kimba, please introduce yourself and your author to my blog readers.

resized-headshot-2014My name is Kimba, and my author’s name is Meg Welch Dendler. She’s also called “Mama” in the books.

What book(s) have you appeared in?

I am the heroine of the whole book series, which started with “Why Kimba Saved The World.” There are four main cats in the stories, and each gets her own book, but I’m the star (as it should be). Book 2 is “Vacation Hiro,” Book 3 is “Miss Fatty Cat’s Revenge,” and Book 4 is “Slinky Steps Out.”

The series is for middle-grade readers in the science fiction/fantasy genre, and it is called the “Cats in the Mirror” series. In the stories you will discover that all cats are aliens and communicate with ships in space through the mirrors in your houses. I am super-proud that the first two books won a Silver Mom’s Choice Award as a juvenile series. My book also won a Bronze Moonbeam Children’s Book Award.

Your books sound pawsome. Are you based on a real cat such as your author’s? If so, please give further details.

img_2491I am absolutely a real cat, as are many of the cats in the series. Some of the characters are based on other people’s cats, and some have just come from Mama’s imagination. But I’m the main character because Mama says that I’m so nutty I must be an alien.

You are quite pretty, Kimba. If you lived nearby and liked older guys, my author’s 16-year old Siamese Oliver might be interested in getting to know you. He’s a bit nutty himself.

Can you share an excerpt from one of your books that features you in an important scene? If so, please include it.

I can share a section from Book 1 that I really like. It’s when I find out about being an alien and my whole life changes.

FIRST CONTACT

It was the day that everything would change.

Mama had caught Kimba when she wasn’t paying attention, and she was carrying her through the bathroom, cooing and fussing at her as usual. But as they passed the enormous mirror over the sink, Kimba saw something funny. Instead of a reflection of Mama and herself, Kimba saw three strange cats staring back at her from the mirror. Mama had turned away too fast, and when Kimba looked again, the strange cats were gone.

She scrambled to get free and up on to the counter so she could look in the mirror again, but now she saw nothing but her own image. Kimba stood up tall on her back legs, putting her front paws on the frame of the mirror. She looked and looked, but she could not see those other cats.

“Helloooo!” Kimba called out. “Are you theeeeere?”

“Silly baby,” Mama said, scooping her up gently. “That’s just you in the mirror. Let it go, and come have some dinner.”

Reluctantly, Kimba allowed herself to be  carried to the kitchen. But she knew she’d seen something in that mirror, and there was no way she could forget about it. An overly curious kitten like Kimba cannot possibly forget about the chance to learn and explore something new.

Later that night, while the family was watching TV in the living room, Kimba slipped under the big bed where Hiro was snoozing.

“Hey,” she said, curling up in front of her.

Hiro opened one eye and then closed it again.

“Hey,” Kimba said again, this time giving Hiro a gentle bunt with her head.

Hiro yawned and stretched out her front legs and lazily rolled onto her side.

“Sshhh…” she whispered.

“No, Hiro, it’s IMPORTANT!” Kimba whispered.

“I saw something today.”

“A bug?” asked Hiro dreamily. “A crawly one, or could it fly?”

“No,” Kimba said, “something important. Something really weird.”

“How weird?” Hiro asked, opening her eyes a slit to give her sister a bit of attention, without seeming too impressed.

“In the mirror…” Kimba started. “Above the sink…”

“What about the mirror?” Hiro said.

“Well, when I looked in the mirror, I thought I saw three strange cats looking at me from out of the mirror. And then they were gone.”

“That is weird,” Hiro sighed. “You must have just imagined it.”

Hiro curled her body back up into a ball and tucked her head into her arm.

“No, no, no!” Kimba insisted. “It was real.”

Hiro didn’t budge.

After a moment, Kimba got to the point she had really been trying to make.

“Come look with me again.”

Hiro peeked one eye out from behind her leg.

“Look where?” she asked.

“Look in the big bathroom mirror,” Kimba whispered.

“You’re crazy,” Hiro muttered. “There’s nothing there.”

“Okay,” Kimba said calmly. “If there is nothing there, then I’ll forget about it. But it was creepy, so I want you to come look with me.”

Hiro didn’t move.

“Pleaseeee,” Kimba purred.

Hiro wiggled a bit, but did not get up. As a last resort, Kimba stretched out a paw and gently bopped her sister on the head.

“Hey!” Hiro said, gently smacking her sister back.

They locked eyes for a moment and then gave each other that look that only sisters can. Hiro sighed.

“Okay, fine, I’ll go with you. But will you forget about it once we see there’s nothing to worry about?”

“Yes,” Kimba said excitedly, “I promise.”

Peeking out from under the bed to be sure that the family was still occupied in the other room, the sisters slunk quietly into the bathroom. The lights were out, so it was dark, but their sensitive eyes adjusted quickly.

With agile springs, Hiro and Kimba landed on the counter in front of the big mirror. It was hard to see anything at first. But before they saw anything, they heard the voice.

“Greetings, Kimba and Hiro,” a deep, calm voice echoed in the dark room.

Hiro and Kimba sat frozen in their tracks. Suddenly, the face of a cat appeared in the mirror. It was a huge, dark-gray cat with beautiful, long hair and even longer whiskers. His eyes shone bright green in the dark room.

“Since the humans are at home, we will need to make this brief,” he continued. “I am Regalus. I will be your contact during this mission. Since this is your first contact, I will explain some of the rules.”

Kimba looked at Hiro and nodded, as if to say I told you so, but Hiro just sat frozen, her eyes locked with the gray cat’s.

“It is vital that the humans know nothing about our communications. At all times, you must pretend that you cannot see anything in these reflecting devices. Ignore them. Don’t make contact or even look in them. Do you understand?”

Regalus paused, clearly waiting for some kind of response. The sisters just stared.

“I realize that this all may be a bit surprising at the moment, but we will be in touch frequently. I have been watching you since you arrived in this house. I can see you at all times, but I can control when you can see me. I will never appear when a human is in the room.”

“But, this afternoon,” Kimba sputtered, “Mama was here when I saw you and two other cats.”

“Yes,” Regalus said, “that was a regrettable mistake. My assistant leaned against a button she should not have. She has been dealt with.”

Hiro made a little squeaky, sneezing noise. Regalus stared at her for a moment, and then he continued.

“The next time the humans leave the house for the day, come into the bathroom and sit here on the counter. Then we can continue our communications.”

Suddenly, the kittens heard a stirring in the other room. They had been talking too loudly.

“Kiiiiimmy Baby???” Mama called from the  living room. “What’s wrong?”

With that, the image of Regalus faded, and Kimba and Hiro found themselves staring at their own reflections in the mirror.

The next moment, the bathroom light flicked on, and Mama stood in the doorway. She paused at the sight of the two kittens sitting on the bathroom counter. Quick as a flash, Hiro made a chirping noise, jumped down, and dashed back under the bed. Kimba just stared at Mama, blinking in the bright light.

“What are you silly girls up to?” she laughed. “Checking your makeup?”

You’d never believe it if I told you, she thought.

With a simple mew, Kimba jumped down and joined her sister under the bed.

“Crazy babies,” Mama said with a chuckle.

As Mama and Daddy fussed around getting ready for bed, the sisters wondered if Regalus was still watching. It was weird to think that they had been observed for months and months without knowing about it. What did these cats want, who were they, and why had they been watching? The sisters agreed to find out as soon as they could.

How exciting. My whiskers are tingling. That would surely cat-ch attention of kiddie readers.

What do you like most about your role in your authors’ books?

I like that I’m the star. There are also very special details about my role in the universe of cats that are revealed through the series, but I’m not supposed to talk about it. Spoilers.

Meow’s the word. I hate spoilers especially when it’s canned food left out too long.

Are you a talking cat in your books or just a silent one like I am who just meows occasionally?

In the series cats talk to each other but they do not talk to humans. It is all from the cats’ point of view with the humans as background characters. We can understand them, but they can’t understand us.

That’s probably for the best. In my books, I don’t even talk to cats, but I have a way of communicating with humans who are receptive to my cat language.

What advice would you give other cat characters?

Make sure that you do something amazing in every book. Readers like that. You are often going to be put in uncomfortable or dangerous situations, but the author will get you out of it in the end. Be brave.

Purrfect advice. I don’t believe my parts have been especially challenging, so I’m petitioning to change that in future books.

Do you have any new books coming out? Please give dates and details.

banner-for-twitter-2016-springMama had lots of people wanting dog books, so she wrote one about The Big Black Beast called “Max’s Wild Night.” It’s a companion book to our series because he’s in my books but only as a minor character. In his own book, he gets to be the star (but I’m in there a little bit too). The next book coming out is a second dog book. Mama is getting a bit off track, I know. This one is about another dog in the family, “Dottie’s Daring Day.” It will be out on Feb. 1, 2017. After that will be a totally different book called “The Brave, Frail, and Delicate Princess,” but she managed to work me in there as well in a very magical, special role. That book should be out in late 2017 or early 2018.

Very mice.

Are you and/or your author on social media? If so, please list your links.

Oh, we are all over social media.

Newsletter (aka Reader’s Group) sign up: https://megdendler.com/readers-group-sign/

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/MegDendlerAuthor

https://www.facebook.com/KimbaBabyCat (Kimba fan page)

https://www.facebook.com/MagneticandMain (book page)

Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6951290.Meg_Welch_Dendler

Amazon Author Page:

http://www.amazon.com/Meg-Dendler/e/B00BBNY5O2/

LinkedIn:

https://www.linkedin.com/in/meg-dendler-31562564

Twitter: @MegWelchDendler

Pinterest: Meg Dendler

Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/megdendler/

Leave a Reply

