Sneaky’s Interview with Alex the Cat

alex-the-cat-cover-finalMeow, there, my dear readers. It’s my pleasure to present Alex the Cat who will talk about his books and his author, Dina Porell.

Hey, Alex. What book(s) have you appeared in?

Alex the Cat for young adults

Mice. My author’s daughter is 12 and might enjoy your books.

Are you based on a real cat such as your author’s?

Yes, I was based on a real life stray cat in South Korean streets and my author rescued me.

Wow! That must’ve been very exciting. I have never been to South Korea. My books take place mostly in New York State.

Can you share an excerpt from one of your books that features you in an important scene? If so, please include it.

“Missing my mom and a desire to find her led me to a familiar place, the green box. Spider webs covered the place and the spiders claimed it as their home. I jumped into my bed and hoped mom would be there but she wasn’t. I knew that dad was a dead cat, but mom – was she dead or did she survive? I will always wonder about her. I put my head on the black plastic pillow. The sweet scent came to my nose. I could smell her white fur but I couldn’t see her. I was in my bed, but I wasn’t happy, I wasn’t safe. At that moment I realized that home is just a place, your beloved ones are the real home, they were who I belonged to.”

That’s very touching.

What do you like most about your role in your authors’ books?

Raising awareness of stray cats and the problems they face in everyday. My author dreams of a day where all of the kittens have a warm home!

That would be wonderful indeed. Even though I’m not a real cat and only live in the pages of a book, I sympathize with poor, homeless kitties. In fact, my character, Sneaky, was a stray cat who was luckily taken in by the kind people at the Cobble Cove Library.

Are you a talking cat in your books or just a silent one like I am who just meows occasionally?

I talk to other cats and meow to humans.

What advice would you give other cat characters?

Be your charming meowing self! And stay out of trouble.

All cats are charming, but the ones who act in cat cozy mysteries can’t help but get themselves and often their human co-stars into trouble – MOL (meow out loud)

Do you have any new books coming out?

No, but my author just finished a short story about cat twin. Maya and The Mystery of The Cat Burglars made the long-list of The Golden Baobab prize for the early chapter book category.

http://goldenbaobab.org/about-us/our-news

Concats to your author.

Are you and/or your author on social media? If so, please list your links.

My author’s on twitter at @DinaPorell.

Thanks so much for dropping by, Alex, and best whiskers to you and your author on her books.

Leave a Reply

