Sneaky’s Interview with Belladonna from the Blackmoore Sisters Cozy Mysteries by Leighann Dobbs

kitty2 Oh, my Whiskers!  I am pawstruck. A lovely lady is here today for an interview. May I ask your name and who has created such a beautiful creature?

authorpic2016My name is Belladonna and my author is Leighann Dobbs.

A pleasure to meet you, my dear. Would you mind if I call you Bella?

Of claws not, Sneaky.

Thank you, Bella. What book(s) have you appeared in? Please list them and their genre.

cover-small I slink and sleuth my way through the following Cozy Mysteries: Dead Wrong, Dead & Buried, Dead Tide, Buried Secrets, Deadly Intentions, A Grave Mistake and Spell Found.

How pawsome. I have only appeared in two books so far, but my author has already started on a third in which I will play a larger role, or so she promises.

Are you in a series? If so, please give information about it.

I appear in the Blackmoore Sisters Cozy Mystery series.  Even though the sisters think they are the main characters, I must say that I do believe most readers like me the best.  Especially since my superior feline skills are often necessary to help solve the case.

I am sure they are. I have not done much sleuthing so far in the Cobble Cove mysteries. However, I did lead Alicia to one of the clues in the first book. I’m going to purrfect my detecting skills in number 3, at least I hope so, but I know what you mean about the human characters trying to steal the spotlight. I also have to compete with a dog co-star. It can be quite fur-strating at times.

Are you based on a real cat such as your author’s? If so, please give further details.

I’m based on my author’s current cat whose real-life name is Kitty. Yes, I’m embarrassed to admit that my author didn’t have much imagination in the naming department with her.  Though there is a slight variation in our color (I’m pure white and Kitty has mocha-gray markings on white) we do share the same striking ice-blue eyes which is also a trait the Blackmoore sisters (my humans in the book series) also possess.

Yes, I noticed them as soon as you glanced my way, Bella. They are quite attractive, as are you. As a siamese based on my author’s cat, Oliver, I also have blue eyes. We would make a handsome pair if you are free after this interview. 

Please, Sneaky, you are making me blush.

Sorry. Let’s get back to the interview. Can you share an excerpt from one of your books that features you in an important scene? If so, please include it.

Certainly!  This one is from Dead Tide:

Belladonna flicked her tail against the coffee table trying to draw attention to the two maps that lay spread on the surface but the sisters paid no attention to her, preferring to oooh and aaah at the sappy love poems in the old poetry book.

She sighed in exasperation, flopped down on her belly and licked the inside of her paw. Sometimes it was so hard to get through to the humans. She wondered why she even bothered. She’d spent most of the day trying to point out the very page in the journal they should look at. But they’d paid no attention, even going so far as to shoo her away!

She felt the hairs on her back prickle and sat upright, becoming alert to the energy in the house. Something was happening below … something that needed her attention.

She slipped out of the living room and into the kitchen, pausing at the rope covered scratching post her humans had conveniently installed in the pantry, and took a few seconds to hone her claws to needle like points. She would need them to be as sharp and deadly as possible.

Wow, Meow! That is some fur-raising scene. 

 What do you like most about your role in your authors’ books?

Though often I am relegated to the background, my assistance is always necessary for the Blackmoore Sisters to succeed.

They are very lucky to have you.

Are you a talking cat in your books or just a silent one like I am who just meows occasionally?

Aside from one chapter in the book Dead Tide (the excerpt above is from that chapter), readers don’t get to know what I am thinking.  I do meow a lot though.

I’m a great meower myself, although right now I am purring in your presence.

 What advice would you give other cat characters?

Be patient with the humans, they don’t have our superior intelligence. It’s best to push them toward the clues but make them think they found them on their own. If all else fails, a strategically placed hairball or mouse head will always get their attention.

MOL (Meow Our Loud). You are funny as well as pretty. I love a gal with a sense of humor.

 Do you have any new books coming out? Please give dates and details.

A new book in my series will be out in March.  It is called “Fatal Fortune” and in the book we visit an island that is the fictional version of Oak Island in Nova Scotia to retrieve an old relic that was buried there by pirates.  The idea for the island came from one of our readers, so it was really fun for Leighann to research and write about this interesting place.

Readers can make great suggestions. A few of Debbie’s readers have sent in purrfect ideas for names in her character contest. 

 Are you and/or your author on social media? If so, please list your links.

Connect with Leighann on Facebook and don’t forget to tell her I sent you!

I won’t, Bella. I hope you don’t think I’ve been too frisky during our interview. 

No, Sneaky. You’ve been a purr-fect, gentlemen, and I had a great time chattering with you.

Likewise. I really enjoyed our talk. Best whiskers to you and  your author on your upcoming release and future books.

 

Leave a Reply

