Sneaky Interviews Svetlana and Rex from the Moorhaven Mystery Series

What a lucky cat character I am to have two new guests on my blog today. Can you please introduce yourselves and your author?

morgan-talbot-author-pic-bigSvetlana: I am Svetlana, Kitty Mistress of Moorehaven, and my author is Morgan C. Talbot. Oh, and that fluffy tabby back there is young Rex. He is merely two years old, but I will kindly allow him to answer one or two questions if he is a good kitty.

That sounds purrfect, Ms. Svetlana. What book(s) have you appeared in? Please list them and their genre.

Svetlana: We live in the Moorehaven Mysteries series, which only has one book out so far: Smugglers & Scones. Our world is very cozy, and comes with plenty of yummy food!

smugglers-and-scones-cover-reveal

There’s lots of food in my Cobble Cove mysteries, too — special PB&J sandwiches, delicious muffins and cookies, and tons of tasty scraps from the library staff lounge which I enjoy sneaking bites of (my name is “Sneaky,” after all).

Can one of you tell me more about your series? It sounds pawsome.

Svetlana: You may speak now., Rex. Be polite.

Rex: Yes, Svetlana. *ahem* Moorehaven Mysteries is a series set in the small town of Seacrest on the Oregon Coast. Moorehaven is a Victorian B&B, which used to be the home of world-famous mystery author A. Raymond Moore. All the humans in Seacrest know about murder mysteries because of him. And all of the guests who come to Moorehaven write mysteries, too.

Our owner, Pippa Winterbourne, runs Moorehaven, so we get to sit on all the laps and computer keyboards we can find! The B&B has so many windows for us to gaze out of, it’s great. Plus there’s all the kitchen leftovers. Pippa and her Uncle Hilt make the best breakfast food I’ve ever eaten, and if I sit in the kitchen window sill and stare at them long enough, they’ll give me some!

Svetlana: Yes, that is enough, Rex. Thank you. I apologize for his youthful exuberance.

No apologies necessary. Rex did very well. While I’m a library cat, I sometimes pay visits at the Cobble Inn which used to be run by a nice lady named Dora when my author’s main character, Alicia, first came to town. Now her friend Gilly is in charge, and she is just as good a baker. Alicia is a librarian and is a co-author of a mystery series, so we have a lot in common.

Are you based on a real cat such as your author’s? If so, please give further details.

Svetlana: No, Rex, I will answer this one. You are too young and get the facts wrong. Now then. Rex and I are not based on real cats because our author’s husband is allergic. Such a tragedy, I know. But in our book series, we are both named for characters from Mr. Moore’s fictional bestsellers. It’s a rule of Moorehaven: the B&B must always have two cats, and they must always be named for characters from Mr. Moore’s novels. I am named for a gorgeous Russian spy, as you might have guessed, in The Alabaster Guile. Rex, well, he is less interesting. He was a bodybuilder who got mixed up with the wrong crowd in The Brass Artifice. But Rex is very lovely to snuggle with in window sills during the winter. And he licks my ears. He really is a good kitty. Even if he is just named for a musclehead.

How interesting.  What do you like most about your role in your author’s books?

Rex: Hey, I like being named for a musclehead! Actually, I think it’s neat that we’re named for characters in bestselling books. Moorehaven is a mansion with over a hundred years of history—and mysteries of its own—and we get to live there and be part of its atmosphere. Writers and cats have always been natural allies. Except, y’know, when keyboards are involved. I’m proud of my job to help set the tone of the B&B and the book we’re in.

Svetlana: That was a decent answer, Rex.

Very decent indeed. Don’t be so hard on him, Svetlana.

Are you talking cats in your books or just a silent one like I am who just meows occasionally?

Svetlana: We don’t speak, but with our body language, we offer a kind of color commentary on the life and excitement in Moorehaven.

Rex: Yeah, you are a white commentary, and I am a tabby commentary.

Svetlana: No, just no. You should probably stop talking now.

MOL (Meow Out Loud). Give the Kit a break. He’s just got a weird sense of humor.

What advice would you give other cat characters?

Svetlana: Be cats. Everyone who knows cats will know when you get it right. And beware of dog characters. They are all spies for the humans.

I agree cats are the superior species, but my co-star is not a spy. Fido is just a dumb dog even if the human characters treat him the same as me. Cats make much better spies especially the “sneaky” ones like me.

Do you have any new books coming out? Please give dates and details.

Svetlana: Our author is hard at work on the second book in our series, which is tentatively called Burglars and Blintzes. But its release date is classified Top Secret. Even I don’t know it.

Hmmm. I hate when authors keep secrets from us characters. Debbie has the third book in our series coming out soon and a reprinted version of our first, A Stone’s Throw, but the only thing I know is that she may have taken my advice and put my photo on the cover of Written in Stone. Actually, it’s not my photo but another Siamese model. I also noticed, when I peeked at her screen, that she was adding some new scenes featuring me in more adventurous roles. That was after I complained about the silly storytime and annoying vet scene she cast me in our second book, Between a Rock and a Hard Place. I guess my blogging has opened her eyes to my true talents.

Are you and/or your author on social media? If so, please list your links.

Svetlana: Our author has these social media links you speak of. They are just distractions from petting us, you know, but I will slip you the information you need anyway. You owe me a treat for this, okay?

No problem. I always keep some catnip on hand to loosen up my guests, so go ahead, and I will share some with you and Rex, too.

Here is the bird one: https://twitter.com/MorganCTalbot

Here is the purple one: http://morganctalbot.blogspot.com/

Here is the blue one: https://www.facebook.com/MorganCTalbot/

I’m such a clever kitty, just like the spy I’m named for!

And quite modest, Svetlana. Thanks for the interview, and best whiskers to you, Rex, and your author on your upcoming books.

2 thoughts on “Sneaky Interviews Svetlana and Rex from the Moorhaven Mystery Series

Leave a Reply

