Sneaky Interviews Diesel from the Cat in the Stacks Mysteries by Miranda James

Meow, there. I have an interview with another pawsome guest, Diesel Harris from Miranda James’ Cat in the Stacks mysteries. It’s great to have you here Diesel. Can you please tell us about your series?

arsenic-and-old-books silence-of-the-library murder-past-due-high-res

Yes, I am in the series known as “The Cat in the Stacks” but I also make an appearance in the “Southern Ladies” mysteries (that’s in Bless Her Dead Little Heart).

Very mice. I think my author, who is a librarian and cat lover, would enjoy your series. I am a library cat myself, so I am quite familiar with stacks and mysteries, of claws.

Are you based on a real cat such as your author’s? If so, please give further details.

The inspiration for my character was a cat who belonged to the late Barbara Mertz (better known to readers as Elizabeth Peters and Barbara Michaels). Her Maine Coon, whom Miranda met once, was named “The Diesel” after a Washington Redskins running back. The Diesel weighed 40 pounds and was a really big kitty!

Maine Coons can be large. I’m a Siamese based on my author’s cat, Oliver. He’s a pretty big guy but not that big.

What do you like most about your role in your authors’ books?

I like helping my human, Charlie Harris, when he gets involved in a murder. And I like it that he takes me everywhere with him (except to church and the grocery store, whatever they are). I get to meet lots of humans who give me attention – but there are some who I can tell aren’t nice humans.

Sounds like you have some prime time in those books. I am trying to get more action parts with my co-stars Alicia and John. I also have a dog co-star, Fido, but I don’t mind. He doesn’t have his own blog – MOL (Meow Out Loud).

Are you a talking cat in your books or just a silent one like I am who just meows occasionally?

I do talk a lot, but it’s all in warbles, chirps, trills, and meows. I don’t speak human.

I’m the silent type myself, but Siamese can be vocal when they want to be. You should hear Oliver first thing in the morning.

Do you have any new books coming out? Please give dates and details.

twelveangrylibrarians_finalThe next book, Twelve Angry Librarians, will be out today, February 21st, 2017.

Wow, Meow! Concats. That’s the book Debbie has on reserve at the library. I hope she reads it to me.

Are you and/or your author on social media? If so, please list your links.

I have my own page on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/DieselHarrisCat

djbestheadshotThe Miranda person (also known as Dean James) is also on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/MirandaJamesAuthor

Purrfect. Thanks so much for the interview, Diesel, and best whiskers to you and your author on your new release and upcoming books.

2 thoughts on “Sneaky Interviews Diesel from the Cat in the Stacks Mysteries by Miranda James

Leave a Reply

