Interview with Hitchcock from the Bad Luck Cat Mysteries by Kay Finch

Sneaky has a new guest on this blog today. Hello, black cat. What is your name and your author’s name?

My name is Hitchcock, and my author is Kay Finch.

Very mice to meet you, Hitchcock.What book(s) have you appeared in? Please list them and their genre.

 

I have appeared in the cozy mysteries Black Cat Crossing and The Black Cat Knocks on Wood.  They call my books The Bad Luck Cat Mysteries even though I, of course, have never caused one bit of bad luck for anyone. Honest.

I certainly believe you, but some people think a black cat crossing one’s path causes bad luck. I purrsonally don’t agree. My best friends are black cats – Midnight Louie, Familiar, and others who have appeared on this blog before. you.

Are you based on a real cat such as your author’s? If so, please give further details.

Alice

I am totally a figment of my author’s imagination, though I’m told she had a feline writing sidekick named Alice during the writing of Black Cat Crossing.

Debbie’s feline sidekick is Oliver who is also a Siamese like I am, but he’s older and not as good an actor in my opinion, although he could’ve been a singer with his vocal ability waking Debbie up so he can be fed early in the morning, but then she gets a chance to write about me, so that’s cool.

Can you share an excerpt from one of your books that features you in an important scene? If so, please include it.

 Tyanne passed the man and the pickup. When she pulled into the parking lot, I carried Hitchcock over to the driver’s side door. Ty had already powered the window down. Her daughter Abby sat in the passenger seat.

     “Sorry I don’t have a cat carrier with me,” I said. “I sure appreciate you coming over.”

     Abby held out her arms. “I can hold the kitty.”

     Tyanne didn’t say a word. She was focused on her rearview mirror. I turned to watch as the red pickup’s passenger side door was flung open, presumably by the driver. The man ran around the back of the truck to jump in. He pulled the door shut behind him.

     I realized who he was at the same moment Tyanne said, “What the heck is Hayden Birch doing over there, and who’s that woman who just picked him up?”

     “Mrreow,” Hitchcock said as he squirmed in my arms.

     I turned to look at the truck again. As though determined to find out the answers to Ty’s questions himself, the cat sprang away from me and raced toward the truck as it started to pull away from the curb.

     “No, Hitchcock,” I shouted. “Stop.”

     I couldn’t believe my eyes when the cat made a long graceful arc through the air, the leash flying behind him like a skinny Superman cape. I prayed that the end of the leash wouldn’t get caught on the trailer hitch and let out a whoosh of breath when the cat and leash disappeared into the pickup bed.

     “Dear Lord,” Tyanne said, her gaze still glued to the rearview. “Did you see that?”

     I had, and I was already in her back seat.

     “Hurry, Ty,” I said. “Follow that truck.”

Purrfect. You are a natural, Hitchcock.

What do you like most about your role in your authors’ books?

I’m the first one to hear the scenes in the mystery novel that my owner, Sabrina Tate, is writing. She talks to herself when she plots, then she reads each chapter aloud to me when she’s finished writing it.

I’d say that’s a great advantage.

Are you a talking cat in your books or just a silent one like I am who just meows occasionally?

You would consider me a silent cat even though my brain’s always working a mile a minute. Every once in a while I let out a “Mrreow.”

I see. I’m sure they are purrfectly timed.

What advice would you give other cat characters?

Don’t ever go down those stairs into the dark basement when you know the villain is on the loose.

MOL (Meow Out Loud). Why don’t the humans pay attention to that? They always get themselves into trouble.

Do you have any new books coming out? Please give dates and details.

My next book, The Black Cat Sees His Shadow, comes out on June 6, 2017.

How exciting. I’ll keep an eye out for it. I like to read other cat character’s books to help me purrfect my acting skills.

Are you and/or your author on social media? If so, please list your links.

I’m a lurker on social media, but my author is there:

            https://www.facebook.com/KayFinchAuthor/

            https://www.facebook.com/kay.finch.35

            https://twitter.com/KFinchMysteries

Purrfect. We’ll look her up. Thanks so much for the interview, and best whiskers to you and your author on your upcoming books.

 

2 thoughts on “Interview with Hitchcock from the Bad Luck Cat Mysteries by Kay Finch

Leave a Reply

