Sneaky’s Interview of Rama, the Rescued Cat

Today, I am honored to interview a real-life rescued cat. As those who have been reading this blog or my mystery series, you will know that I was also rescued by the kind people at the Cobble Cove library. Of course, I am not a real cat, so I am very interested in hearing a first-hand account from one who has experienced this wonderful act. So let’s proceed.

What is your name, and your author’s name?

My name is Rama! I also go by Rama Dasa, Dasa Dude, Dude, and a bunch of other cute nicknames that my human gave me. I am a sleek black cat and I love to move like a panther. I look like I’m very sure of myself and my size can be imposing, but I have a sweet, vulnerable side, too. My human and author, Catherine (Cat) Holm, wrote a story about me in Rescued, The Stories of 12 Cats, Through Their Eyes; the story is called “Sideways” and it’s about how I came to learn to trust humans again. Apparently, this story moved a lot of people, because it won a big award (The Cat Writers’ Association President’s Award in 2016)!

That’s pawsome. My author is also a member of CWA.

What book(s) have you appeared in?

The book that I have appeared in so far is Rescued: The Stories of 12 Cats, Through Their Eyes (edited by the amazing Janiss Garza). My story of rescue (“Sideways”) is one of 12 stories in this anthology. All these rescue stories are told from the point of view of 12 different cats.

My author may have future plans for me in a book, but she’s keeping it secret for now. The spirit cat Target (who is also black, and who shows up in “Sideways” to try to help me out) is a big character in my human’s cat fantasy fiction novel The Great Purr. My human also wrote a memoir called Driving with Cats: Ours for a Short Time. She writes about my journey toward becoming more trusting, and she compares the journey to picking berries in the woods. How strange is that?!

Your author sounds very talented. I am sure you are as proud of her as I am of Debbie. Writing about cats, both real and fictional, is truly a work of love.

Are you based on a real cat such as your author’s? If so, please give further details.

Oh yes. I am completely authentic and the story is completely true! My human took some magical liberties in the story “Sideways” when the spirit of Target confronted me under the bed, but the rest of the story really happened.

Can you share an excerpt from one of your books that feature you in an important scene? If so, please include it.

Praise Cat, the rumbling of the car ceased a few moments later, but I could see cars all around us in a lot and a large building nearby. We couldn’t be home yet. The man got out of the car, and the woman remained. She pulled the cat carrier closer to her. I felt the growl beginning in my throat, again.

“Sweetie,” she said, softly.

 I showed her my teeth. She did not have the bad smell of the male who had left me locked in his apartment. But, still. A human had to be shown.

 Unfazed, she brought her hand closer to the cage door. “Hon,” she breathed. “Are you Target?”

 “I am NOT Target!” I screamed, but to my knowledge, no human speaks cat. She backed up slightly, alarmed at my howling. But then, she leaned forward and opened the latch. The gall! She opened the door. I hissed, and backed up in the carrier. Gave her my best steely glare. She looked into my eyes, her own eyes watering again.

 “Okay, I know you’re not Target,” she said.

Very mice excerpt. Thanks for sharing it.

What do you like most about your role in your authors’ books?

Some of us have a very hard time coming to trust humans. I think my human did a good job of capturing my gradual journey from complete fear and insecurity to gradual contentment and trust.

Indeed. Are you a talking cat in your books or just a silent one like I am who just meows occasionally?

I talk, for sure! But I’m not a blabbermouth. I only say what is needed. I am never a loud or mouthy cat, although I do have a passionate, insistent little sound I make when I am hungry. Food is a great pleasure of mine.

As it is for all us cats.

What advice would you give other cats and cat characters?

Find your true voice and stick with it. Every cat has a unique personality and this comes through in how they talk and how they are portrayed in writing.

I agree totally.

Do you have any new books coming out? Please give dates and details.

My human is working on two books that I will be part of, but it’s way too soon to give a date! One book is a memoir about our big move from Minnesota to Vermont, more than 3 years ago! The other book is another cat fantasy novel, which will take place in both Minnesota and Vermont. My human loves to write about cats and places!

What purrfect plans.

Are you and/or your author on social media? If so, please list your links.

Author Cat Holm with Zorro who appears in Rescued Volume 2

My human has an author page at https://www.facebook.com/Catherine-Holm-Freelance-content-writer-blogger-book-author-156035251112896/  

Thanks. It was a pleasure to speak with you, Rama, and best whiskers to you and your author on your upcoming books.

4 thoughts on “Sneaky’s Interview of Rama, the Rescued Cat

Leave a Reply

