Sneaky Interviews Lucky, Adrienne’s cat from the Historical Romance, Upon Your Love, by Marie Lavender

Oh, my Whiskers. I have the pleasure of interviewing a Victorian cat character today. What is your name and your author’s name?

My name is Lucky. The author in question is Marie Lavender.

Mice to meet you. I believe your author is with my author’s publisher, Solstice Publishing.

That’s correct, Sneaky.

What book(s) have you appeared in? Please list them and their genre.

I appeared in Upon Your Love. This is a historical romance/family saga novel, which is set in 1894.

Boy, that’s a long time ago. Debbie wrote a short story romance taking place around that time called The Seashell and the Stone. It featured a Victorian cat named Seashell, unusual name for a cat if I say so myself.

Are you in a series? If so, please give information about it.

I’m not in the whole series, but Upon Your Love is part of a trilogy with a maritime theme. Plus, as I said before, I live in the Victorian era. According to the author, the Heiresses in Love Series is about the Hill family and it spans many generations. There sure are enough people at the Bellamont estate!

Certainly sounds pawsome.

Are you based on a real cat such as your author’s? If so, please give further details.

Loosely, yes. I am based on a cat named Gingerbread, whom she fostered briefly until another family took over. She took many of my sweet qualities from Gingerbread – renamed ‘Cheddar’ later…gah! – but my tendency to get into mischief is all me, I’m proud to admit.

Interesting. I like your cattitude.

Can you share an excerpt from one of your books that features you in an important scene? If so, please include it.

Two days later, Adrienne played on the floor with Lucky, in her boudoir, tossing about one of her Maman’s spare, blue balls of yarn. She heard a knock at the door, but the feline had nudged the ball beneath the bed and she had to fetch it. A much harder task than she imagined, for Lucky was getting stronger. She finally retrieved it but, upon rising, she heard a sound behind her. Turning, she spied Eric. Clearly, he’d only come in to see if she was all right. She knew he wouldn’t have intruded otherwise.

She glanced around to check her kitten’s whereabouts and winced as the animal playfully pounced on his black, leather boots.

As Eric stood there in the middle of the room, his brown gaze narrowed on the orange cat while his lips twitched a little. The amusement in his eyes gave him away as well.

“Your mother will thrash you when she finds him in here.”

            “Her,” she corrected.

            “Her. And she will not be pleased.”

            She shrugged. “Maman will come around; I have no doubt of it.”

            He waved a hand as if he hadn’t the energy for this situation. “So, you will make your gentleman wait this time.”

            His words sunk in. She stood up quickly, cursing. “Christian is here? But, why didn’t you say?”

            “I said you have a visitor.”

            “But, not who,” she accused. “It could have been anyone.” She rushed to the vanity and ran a brush through her dark hair. She smoothed the wrinkles in her forest green, satin day gown, which had long sleeves and a ruffled collar.

            “You look well enough, chére.”

            “Not a word,” she grumbled. “I wish you’d told me sooner.” Her heart began to race wildly. How did the man do this to her? He always brought out vain impulses that were so foreign to her. “Did he say what he wanted?”

            “No, just that he wished to see you.”

            The request was vague at best. Christian was rarely a gentleman of leisure so he must have a purpose in coming.

            “Are you certain you wish to entertain Du Plessis? Your father would be pleased enough to send him away, if that’s what you want.”

            “No, he knows that is rude.”

            Eric scowled. “I won’t describe the bounder’s previous actions then.”

            “Eric,” she scolded. “This is between me and Christian. I promise I will handle it, and do whatever necessary to make it clear how I feel. You know I can protect myself from threats.”

            He sighed. “Be careful, chére. I am only concerned about you.”

            “Of course,” she murmured. “Now, go torment someone else, please.”

            Eric’s masculine laugh echoed as he left the room.

            Adrienne drew a deep breath, and departed from her boudoir. She took the stairs, and peeked in a few rooms, until she found Christian standing in the library. As handsome as ever dressed in a gray day suit, he eyed her father’s collection of literature. His black, wavy hair was a bit longer now and had started to curl up over the collar of his coat.

            “This collection is quite extensive,” he commented, as if he’d known all along that she stood there.

            She murmured an agreement. “Papa is rather proud of it. Elena has spent a lot of time in here during her stay and, if I am not mistaken, Pierce would enjoy it as well.”

            “Yes, he would.” After a moment, he turned to face her. “I have come to find out your answer.”

            “Hmm… to what?”

            He blinked. “Why, to my marriage proposal.”

            “Oh. Well, I don’t remember you asking.”

He frowned and looked at her as if she’d lost her mind. She wanted to laugh as one dark eyebrow lifted in inquiry.

“Of course, I asked.”

            “No, you definitely did not ask. As I recall, it was little more than a demand.”

            Christian’s mouth opened, then closed and he only appeared to stare at her, confusion in his nearly black eyes.    “Is that why you object, because I didn’t ask formally?”

            “Oh, no, it’s just one reason to object. I have a number of them.”

            He scowled. “What the hell do you mean by that?”

You don’t appear much in that scene, but I like the human characters, and it must’ve been fun jumping on that guy’s boots.

What do you like most about your role in your authors’ books?

I like that Adrienne found someone she could love – me! – someone who reminded her of her own positive qualities.

I believe the love between human and cat and even human character and cat character can be quite rewarding for both parties.

Are you a talking cat in your books or just a silent one like I am who just meows occasionally?

I am silent for the most part, except when I want my pet human’s attention, and especially when I’m hungry.

Same here.

What advice would you give other cat characters?

20859891 – hair. beautiful brunette girl. sexy woman with wavy long hair isolated on a black background. beauty model. hairstyle

(Cocks her head.) Be yourself. Why would you be anyone else? Oh, and enjoy life! I started out in the barn because Mrs. Chastain refused to keep our stray litter. Therefore, Joseph was watching over us. But a miracle happened after that. Adrienne found me and brought me into the house. Have you seen all that hair she has? She rivals even me. Humans are such strange creatures…

My author’s cat, Oliver, on whom I was loosely based, enjoyed playing in Debbie’s daughter’s hair when they first got him.

Do you have any new books coming out? Please give dates and details.

I don’t, but Marie’s new release is Directions of the Heart, which came out on July 25th. It is a modern romantic drama collection. Also, Marie is currently editing Blood Instincts, a futuristic paranormal romance/urban fantasy novel and book two of the Blood at First Sight Series. She hopes to see that out sometime this year, or in the early months of 2018. (Shudders.) It’s not for me, though. Vampires are scary!

Vampires and cats don’t mix well, but those sound like appealing books to some humans who enjoy reading scary stuff.

Are you and/or your author on social media? If so, please list your links.

Please…I’m a cat. I am far too lazy for such menial human tasks. But, here are Marie’s links:

​http://marielavender.com/
http://iloveromanceblog.wordpress.com/
http://marielavenderbooks.blogspot.com/
http://marielavender.blogspot.com/
https://www.facebook.com/marie.lavender.58
https://www.facebook.com/MarieAnnLavender
https://twitter.com/marielavender1
https://plus.google.com/u/0/+MarieLavender/posts

​​http://www.linkedin.com/pub/marie-lavender/27/187/10a
Amazon author page: Author.to/MarieLavender
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6938764.Marie_Lavender

http://marielavender1.allauthor.com/
http://authorsdb.com/authors-directory/1578-marie-lavender
http://www.pw.org/content/marie_lavender
http://manicreaders.com/marielavender/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJu8HjRVYCFOqcIoX6ZxdqQ/videos

Your author is certainly well connected. It was a pleasure to chat with you, Lucky, and I know your author has some other cat characters as well as her real life cats who will be appearing on this blog for future interviews. In the meantime, best whiskers to you.

Leave a Reply

