Sneaky’s Interview of Author Marie Lavender’s Cat, Emma

Meow, there. As you all know if you’ve been reading this blog, I interview cat characters, but I also interview author’s cats. Today, I am honored to interview multi-genre author, Marie Lavender’s cat, Emma.

Hi, Emma. Please tell me and my readers a bit about yourself.

Emma spends her days in deep concentration plotting to rule the world.

I’m surprised you haven’t heard of me before! Well, you should know. I intend to rule the universe someday. My name is Emma A.K.A ‘the Munchkin’ Mulrooney. I have earned many pet names…ha ha…did you notice what I did there? My mom, or favored human slave, Marie Lavender likes to call me Emma Roo, because I bounce all over the house like a kangaroo. She also says, ‘Agent Em’ sometimes. Probably because I am so stealthy and dangerous!

You sound like quite an interesting cat, Emma, but most cats are multi-faceted.

Have you appeared in any of your owner/author’s books? Are you going to be a talking cat in your books or just a silent one like I am who just meows occasionally?

No, I have yet to appear in any of her books, and I am very upset about it! She claims she won’t include any of her own cats in them because she wants to gives us a good life here at home, a ‘private life’. Whatever that means! As if Grumpy Cat or Maru ever had a bad time being famous? Seriously, how could anyone resist adorable me?

To answer your other question, I am rarely silent in life! Except when I’m making my careful plans to take over the world. I always tell my owner what I think and what I want. Other people in the house believe I am too vocal, however. What else is a kitty supposed to do? Humans are too dumb to understand our language, so we have to be as loud as possible.

Ha, Ha. Talk about being loud. You have not heard my author’s cat, Oliver, at 4 a.m. when he wants his breakfast and to go out on Debbie’s enclosed patio for his morning romp – MOL (Meow Out Loud).

What advice would you give other cats?

Be yourself! Go for your goals. If you want to be a cat detective, just do it! For myself, of course, that kind of work is beneath me. I am a queen, the goddess of this domain, and I will rule the world soon enough.

I am sure quite a few of my feline readers have the same plan in mind. Just look at the number of them on Facebook.

Can you tell me something about your author, Marie’s other books? Can you share an excerpt from the latest?

Ah, I suppose I will, if I must. I mean, you were kind enough to ask. Marie is a multi-genre author in the fields of historical romance, contemporary romance, romantic suspense, paranormal romance, fantasy, science fiction, mystery/thriller, dramatic fiction, literary fiction and poetry. But, she loves to try new things as well. Heck, I even heard that she dabbled in horror recently! I guess that’s not so bad. I don’t mind a little violence now and then, especially when I’m proving a point. Oh, where was I? Right. Marie…ah, she has time travel and dystopian works in progress, and even published a kid’s fantasy in 2015. Maybe she’s all over the place for a reason. She can’t seem to pay enough attention to me when she’s writing! But I digress.

Her latest release came out on July 25th. The book is titled Directions of the Heart, and it’s a modern romantic drama collection. Each novella in the volume deals with trauma in some manner. There are dark parts, but it’s also quite emotional, and as Marie is prone to do, she assures me there are happy endings for the couples involved. Here is an excerpt:

When she abruptly drew away from him, he frowned. “What is it you’re afraid of, Sadie? Why do you avoid me when we get close?” It was true. The morning after he’d consoled her from her nightmare, she’d fled from him as if the thought of simple intimacy between them, just lying together, even if sex hadn’t happened, was too much. And she’d pulled away after the dance in the kitchen too.

She glanced at him and shook her head, a sad expression bleeding through her features. “I…it’s complicated. You know about my parents.”

“Yes.” He imagined she might be afraid of losing him if she got too close. Or getting hurt. Was that all? If she wasn’t attracted to him, he would never push, of course. But if she dodged him for another reason entirely, he had to know. “Are you hung up on someone?”

“No. I don’t do this. I haven’t dated in a long time. I told you.”

“Not even just going out?”

“No,” she whispered.

Hell, it had been a while for him too. He wet his lips. “Whoever the last guy was, he was a jerk. I can judge someone turned you off men for a while. Believe me, I’m a guy too, and I know they can be assholes sometimes. He didn’t appreciate you.”

She offered a small smile. “You’re right. He didn’t.”

“I wouldn’t hurt you like that. You believe me, don’t you?”

She looked away. When she met his gaze a moment later, she appeared to want to say something, and then shook her head. “It doesn’t matter. I’m your employer.”

He muttered a curse. “Is it really about that?”

“There are rules.”

Matt lifted a brow. “I didn’t see anything about a ‘no fraternization’ policy in the contract I signed, sweetheart.” He shrugged. “Besides, when you’re off the clock, does it matter?”

“It should.”

“Yeah? Or maybe it’s just a convenient excuse.”

She put her hands on her hips, a move which stirred the strawberry blonde tresses at her shoulders. Her blue-gray eyes flashed. The fire he loved about her. “What are you saying?”

At the risk of being accused of sexual harassment, he leaned forward, saw her gaze immediately drop to his mouth. And he knew, knew it in his gut just like he was aware this intense desire for her wouldn’t go away. “I think you feel something for me, just like I do for you. It’s not tidy, and it won’t be. Hell, it might be wild, even messy with complications. For some reason, you’re scared. I meant what I said. I won’t hurt you. I wish you’d trust that this – you and me – wouldn’t be a mistake. I get you, Sadie, and I know you see it. I understand you in ways that are bound to make you uncomfortable. And it’s pretty terrifying, sure. Caring about someone usually is at first. But this might be the best damned thing we’ve ever invested in.” He brushed his lips against hers as a tease, then stepped back. “I’ll meet you in the car.”

Wow, Meow! Your author is quite talented, Emma.  Do you know when her next book will be out?

I don’t, not really. She is currently editing Blood Instincts, a futuristic paranormal romance/urban fantasy and book two of the Blood at First Sight Series. Depending on how fast editing, beta reading and her publisher go, she hopes to see it out sometime this year or at least in early 2018. Additionally, she has a romantic comedy book and a paranormal romantic thriller collection lined up.
But, enough about her! I should write a book one day. I will title it Your Feline Goddess Has Spoken. What do you think?

Hmm. I can see quite a market for that. Every cat will be clamoring for a copy.

Are you and/or your author on social media? If so, please list your links.

Please…I am far too busy for such inferior human tasks. But, if you really want to see more of my work, I do visit Marie’s ‘MLB’ blog quite often. In the meantime, if you really need to know, here are my human slave’s author links:

​http://marielavender.com/
http://iloveromanceblog.wordpress.com/
http://marielavenderbooks.blogspot.com/
http://marielavender.blogspot.com/
https://www.facebook.com/marie.lavender.58
https://www.facebook.com/MarieAnnLavender
https://twitter.com/marielavender1
https://plus.google.com/u/0/+MarieLavender/posts

​​http://www.linkedin.com/pub/marie-lavender/27/187/10a
Amazon author page: Author.to/MarieLavender
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6938764.Marie_Lavender

http://marielavender1.allauthor.com/
http://authorsdb.com/authors-directory/1578-marie-lavender
http://www.pw.org/content/marie_lavender
http://manicreaders.com/marielavender/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJu8HjRVYCFOqcIoX6ZxdqQ/videos

Purrfect! I enjoyed cat chatting with you, Emma. Best whiskers to you on taking over the world, although you have quite a bit of competition with your fellow felines.

3 thoughts on “Sneaky’s Interview of Author Marie Lavender’s Cat, Emma

Leave a Reply

