Sneaky’s Interview of Paw from the Dog Detective Cozy Mysteries by Sandra Baublitz

Good day, fellow readers. If you haven’t noticed, my blog is now devoted to all pet litterature not just that of cat writing. It’s my pleasure to again feature a guest of the canine persuasion. What is your name, Mr. Dog, and your author’s name?

My name is Paudius Pernivious, Paw for short. My author’s name is Sandra Baublitz.

Paws up, Paw! What book(s) have you appeared in? Please list them and their genre.

 

 

 

I am in The Dog Detective cozy mysteries: Mastiffs, Mystery, and Murder (Novel 1), and the following short stories – The Mystery of the Blue Dolphins (1), The Mystery of Aunt Carol’s Disappearance (2), The Mystery of the Body in the Shed (3), The Mystery of the Missing Bear (4), and The Mystery of the Missing Actor (5). Mastiffs, Mystery, and Murder is available in audio too.

That’s pawsome. Please give information about your tails. I mean tales.

I sniff out clues to help my amateur sleuth owner in the Dog Detective Series. You see (pauses while he scratches his ear), sorry about that, it’s fleas. The bane of every dog I know. Now, where was I… Oh right. You see I bark and dig and find clues that my owner might miss. Plus, I protect her from criminals and killers. A loyal dog’s job is to guard his owner.

(Sneaky moves to another spot). Sorry, I don’t want to catch your fleas. Now tell me are you based on a real dog such as your author’s? If so, please give further details.

I’m based on a puppy my owner met years ago and wanted to own. The puppy was owned by her co-worker. Plus, I’m based on the Beethoven movies. I think I look a lot like the handsome Saint Bernard who played the lead in Beethoven.

I’m not familiar with that  production because I prefer to see cat movies, but you are quite cute for a dog. Can you share an excerpt from one of your books that features you in an important scene? If so, please include it.

I lost my grip on Paw’s collar, and he jerked from my grasp. I landed on the hall floor with Bruce on top of me.

Oomph! My breath rushed out of me. As I tried to sit up, one of Matt’s Chihuahuas raced past me, chasing after Paw and the mastiff.

I turned in time to see the dogs reach the elevator.

By now, the guard and manager had risen to their feet, and Matt had stumbled out of his room. But Bruce and I were still half-lying in the middle of the hallway.

Shelbee and Jac were trapped in our hotel room by Bruce’s and my legs.

Bruce and I scurried to our feet in time to the ping of the elevator arriving.

The elevator doors opened, and I breathed a sigh of relief that no one was on it.

Who knew what the mastiff would do in his frantic state?

The night manager and guard along with Matt and Bruce started running to the elevators. It looked like they were going to be able to corner the dogs safely. I assumed Paw was going to try to stop the mastiff from getting away.

Imagine my surprise when Paw barked and led the dogs into the elevator.

I stood in shock. I didn’t know what Paw thought he was doing. It looked, though, like the guys were still going to be able to catch them.

Then Paw gave me a pointed look as if to say “follow me” and jumped up, hitting the inside panel of buttons on the elevator.

The doors closed a second before the guys reached them.

The indicator light’s down arrow turned green, and the elevator began its descent.

Had Paw meant to do that?

Not bad. About on the par as Fido, my dog co-star’s acting in our Cobble Cove mystery series. Of Claws, it doesn’t come close to mine, but I’m a cat.

What do you like most about your role in your authors’ books?

I like finding the clues. I love my owner and want her to reach her goals. The more clues I find, the quicker she solves the mystery and that makes her happy.

A typical canine response. I find clues, too, and I hope my humans notice them, although they’re pretty naive. Alicia’s smart for a woman, but she often misinterprets what I try to show her. Then she wants to take all the credit when she figures it out.

Are you a talking dog in your books or just a silent one like I am who just meows and purrs occasionally?

I woof and bark.

The dogs I’ve encountered don’t have much a repertoire of sounds that we felines do. My meows alone can vary in dozens of pitches and tones from hisses to yowls.

What advice would you give other dog characters?

Protect your sleuth, work hard, and have some fun. A little mischief now and then enlivens your author’s life and her book.

Another typical canine reply. My advice has always been to aim for the best parts in the mystery and your photo on the cover. I also managed to purrsuade my author to create this pawsome blog for me.

Do you have any new books coming out? Please give dates and details.

I’m in the next Dog Detective novel which is book 2. My author hopes to have it out by March. She hasn’t given it a title yet, but in this one, my owner and her friends are staying at our local Bed and Breakfast. They’re acting in a murder mystery game, but one of the guests dies before the game begins. I put my nose to the ground to track the killer. Wink. Wink. And I’m joined by some new pet characters. A Bassett hound named Henry and two cats, Rascal and Saber. Plus, Samuel and Bitsy from the first book are back.

Ah, so you have cat co-stars. Very mice. I like the idea of a murder mystery mystery.

Are you and/or your author on social media? If so, please list your links.

We’re on Facebook, Twitter. We love to visit with our readers.

Great! Best tail wags to you and your author on your series and future writings. I also have an interview scheduled with your author and her cats that I’m looking forward to.

2 thoughts on “Sneaky’s Interview of Paw from the Dog Detective Cozy Mysteries by Sandra Baublitz

  1. Sneaky, I loved your interview with Paudius Pernivious, Paw for short. I’m so glad that your author, Debbie De Louise posted about your interview on A Cozy Reader’s Nook Facebook page. I joined the group in December so this is the first time I’ve read one of your interviews. Even though I read more cozies with feline characters than canine I loved the perspective that you brought to the interview and the advice you gave to Paw. I’m following your pawsome blog now and look forward to reading more “past editions” as soon as time permits. Best wishes to you and your author. ❤

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.